Gentle Growth

looking up at a tree

“Remind me each day that the race is not always to the swift; that there is more to life than increasing its speed. Let me look upward into the towering oak and know that it grew great and strong because it grew slowly and well.” ~ Orin L. Crain


“We don’t set out to save the world; we set out to wonder how other people are doing and to reflect on how our actions affect other people’s hearts.”
― Pema Chodron

Kapha Season….

Notice the signs of Kapha (earth & water)? Today is a Kapha kind of day; cold, cloudy, wet, and melting of ice and snow.

These are the gunas (qualities) of Kapha: heavy, cloudy, slow/dull, cold, oily, sticky, smooth, dense, soft, static and stable.

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

  1. The Yamas (Behavior)

Ahimsa: Non-harming

Satya: Truth

Brahmacharya: Self-control

Asteya: Non-stealing

Apraigraha: Non-possessiveness

2. The Niyamas (Life-style development)

Saucha: Cleanliness

Santosha: Contentment

Tapas: Self-discipline

Svadhyaya: Self-study

Ishvara Pranidhana: Faith and surrender to the Divine Will

3. Asana: Posture

4. Pranayama: Control of Prana (breath)

5. Pratyahara: Control of the senses (taste, touch, smell, sight, and hearing).

6. Dharana: Concentration

7. Dhyana: Meditation

8. Samadhi: Realization